Turner Orchard: The First Night


“I planted each tree with the seeds you gave me and walked through our pasture that would later teach me many lessons in life.”


I moved to East Texas when I was in the 5th grade. I remember seeing only one stoplight and we had passed that after about 15 minutes of driving. When we arrived at the farm, I wasn’t sure what to expect. It was pitch black outside and I couldn’t even see my hand. That is the first night I looked up to see the stars and heard howling underneath the moon— I was scared.

The only places I had lived before was in Arizona and Wyoming before that. All I had to look forward to was the fact that I was going to be moving to a new place, I’d have to make new friends too. My Uncle Josh made fun of my future home by showing me an old house in a photograph. He called it “the boondocks” or “boonies” for short. I forgot to mention his annoying laugh. He handed me the photo and said I could take it to school to show my friends…

The kids at my old school didn’t believe me when I told them that my family inherited 360 acres of land. One particular little girl named Karie ridiculed me and said, “no one can own that much land, that’s like a forest or something.” In my little heart I believed her but it didn’t stop me from imagining what my new home was like and how much I would miss my old home on East Beck Lane.

I used to pretend I was a princess in a place that I called “the secret garden”… how original of me. In that garden I climbed trees and made mud pies; it was surround by a wall that had a giant iron gate attached. It was part of my grandparents house. Little did I know that I was about to move far away from the desert to a placed called Pine Mills in Hawkins, TX. Population: 1300.


Leave a Reply

